Their News [Archives:2008/1208/Local News]

November 17 2008

UNESCO prize accepting nominations

Journalism organizations worldwide have until January 15 to nominate candidates for the 2009 UNESCO World Press Freedom Prize.

The prize will honor a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defense and/or promotion of press freedom in the world, especially if risk is involved.

The winner will receive US$25,000 during the World Press Freedom Day conference on May 3, 2009 in Qatar.

The nomination form must be completed in English or French and sent to UNESCO, Division for Freedom of Expression, Democracy and Peace, 1, rue Miollis, 75732 Paris, cedex 15, France.

For more information, contact [email protected] or visit

Arab journalists can submit articles on Arab women for award competition

Journalists across the Arab world are invited to take part in the 7th Competition for Best Press Articles on Arab Women and local governance. Deadline is December 31.

Organized by The Center of Arab Women for Training and Research (CAWTAR), the competition is in conjunction with the activities of the media campaign to promote the participation of Arab women in local governance.

The three best articles published on the subject of Arab women and local governance in 2007 and 2008 will be selected. Winners will receive US$1,500, US$1,000, and US$500 respectively.

The project is funded by the Middle East Partnership Initiative. Awards will be given to the winners on March 8, 2009.

For more information, contact Ms. Salwa Ghazwani at: [email protected] or visit

Foreign journalists can be nominated for the British Press Awards

An international award that will be presented as part of the British Press Awards in March, 2009, will honor a couragerous foreign journalist who has battled oppression. Nomination deadline: January 23.

The winner of the International Journalist of the Year award will be chosen by the British Press Awards Academy of about 100 senior journalists.

Nominations must be sent by the Foreign Press Association and the World Association of Newspapers.

For more information, visit

Journalists can vote for best 'Every Human Has Rights' Award winner

The international media development organization Internews has announced the 30 winners of the Every Human Has Rights Media Awards, and is asking the public to vote on the most-eye opening report.

The awards were organized this year to mark the 60th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Among the 30 winners, a special award of US$1,560 will be given to the top report.

The winners, whose stories explicitly refer to the human rights enshrined in the declaration, will be attending the campaign celebration in Paris on December 6, where they will receive a prize for their contribution. They will also get to meet human rights leaders, including Archbishop Desmond Tutu, chair of The Elders, a group of world leaders that tackles some of the world's biggest problems and is an avid supporter of the Every Human Has Rights campaign.

Deadline: 30/11/2008

Read the winning stories and cast votes at

Young journalists sought to contribute to One Young World blog

A new organization is seeking young journalists age 23-28 from around the world who are interested in national and international issues including current affairs, media and environment.

Chosen journalists will write a weekly blog for the organization's Web site, which is committed to finding leaders of the future. English preferred but all languages welcome. Chosen bloggers will have the opportunity to attend the inaugural summit of the organization – One Young World – in London, from July 6 to 9, 2009.

The One Young World summit will be live-streamed to the Internet, and will consist of potential young leaders from every country in the world, and from all sectors, considering resolutions on the role of global business, of politicians, the influence of the media, the environment and co-operation among world religions. The Opening Ceremony will be led by Archbishop Desmond Tutu.

For more information, contact [email protected] with a brief bio and a writing sample.

Prizes for journalists to honor truth-telling, social activism

The Fertel Foundation and The Nation Institute are now accepting applications for two Ridenhour Prizes, which recognize individuals whose acts have protected the public interest, promoted social justice or illuminated a more just vision of society. Nomination deadline is December 1. Two awards will be presented in memory of Ron Ridenhour – a journalist, whistleblower, truth-teller and social activist who died in 1998.

The Ridenhour Prize for Truth-Telling will be awarded to a whistleblower, an investigative journalist or an organization that has recently brought an important issue to light, and the Ridenhour Book Prize will be given to an author who in the view of the judges best reflects the legacy of Ridenhour.

For more information, visit, or contact Jayati Vora at [email protected]. To apply, go to