SEC Formed [Archives:1997/45/Local News]

November 10 1997

Presidential decree number 30 for 1997 was issued by President Ali Abdullah Saleh establishing the Supreme Elections Committee (SEC). Seven people, nominated by parliament, were appointed members of the new committee. These are Abdullah Hussain Barakat, Mohammed Hassan Dammaj, Mansoor Ahmed Saif, Khaled Mohammed Abdulaziz, Awadh Ba-Matraf, Ahmed Haiderah Saeed, Ali Mohammed As-Saeedi. According to the Yemeni Constitution and the Elections Law number 27 for 1996, the SEC has to be disbanded shortly after the parliamentary elections. The decree is effective from the 8th of November, 1997.